UNMANNED AIRCAFT SYSTEMS

THE GLOBAL PERSPECTIVE 2010 / 2011

The following 66 contributing organizations are sincerely thanked:

- Aerospace & Defence Manufacturers Association of Europe (ASD);
- Aerospace Industries of America (AIA), USA;
- · Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA), USA;
- · American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA), USA;
- · Atlantida Consortium, Spain;
- · Australian Certified UAS Operators Association (ACUO), Australia;
- Australian Research Centre for Aerospace Automation (ARCAA), Australia;
- · Australian UAS Academy, Australia;
- · ASTM International, USA;
- · ASTRAEA, UK;
- · Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA), USA;
- Bordeaux TechnoWest Technology Centre, France;
- · British Model Flying Association, UK;
- · COGES, France (organizers of the Eurosatory exhibition);
- · Conseil Général de l'Armement (CGArm), France;
- Deutsche Flugsicherung (DFS), Germany;
- EUROCAE, France;
- EUROCAE WG 73;
- EUROCAE WG73 SG4;
- EUROCONTROL, Belgium;
- Europe Air Sports Association;
- · European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA);
- · European Cockpit Association (ECA);
- European Commission (EC), Directorate General Mobility & Transport;
- European Defence Agency (EDA);
 European Micro UAS Competition (EMAV);
- European Space Agency (ESA);
- · European Unmanned Systems Centre, UK;
- · Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), USA;
- · Federal Ministry of Interior, Germany;
- Flemish Institute for Technological Research (VITO), Belgium
- FRONTEX, European Union Agency for Border Security;
- · INOUI Consortium;
- International Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association (IAOPA);
- Internat. Federation of Air Traffic Controllers Associations (IFATCA), Canada;
- International Federation of Airline Pilots Associations (IFALPA);
- International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), Canada;
- Inspectie Verkeer & Waterstaat (CAA), The Netherlands;
- · Japan UAV Association (JUAV), Japan;
- Joint Authorities for Rulemaking on Unmanned Systems (JARUS);
- · MIDCAS Consortium, Europe;
- National Aeronautical & Space Administration (NASA) DFRC, USA;
- · National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), USA;
- NATO Joint Air Power Competence Centre;
- NATO Research & Technology Organization;
 New Mexico State University of News Mexico, PSL, TAAC, USA
- Norwegian Research Institute (NORUT);
- · Pégase Regional UAS Competence Centre, France;
- PLATINO Consortium, Spain;
- Remote Control Aerial Photography Association, USA;
- · Royal United Services Institute (RUSI), UK;
- RTCA Special Committee 203, USA;
- SAE International, USA;
- · UAS Norway, Norway (national association);
- UATAR, Australia (national working group);
- UAV DACH (German-language association), Germany;
- · UAV National Industry Team (UNITE), USA;
- · UAVS Association, UK (national trade association);
- United States Air Force;
- University of North Dakota, USA;
- Unmanned Systems Manufacturers Ass. (AVBS), Czech Rep.;
- Unmanned Systems Canada (national trade association);
- UVS France (French trade association), France;
- UVS International, Netherlands (global association)
- · West Wales UAV Centre, UK;
- Welsh Assembly Government, UK.

Designer & Editor: Peter van Blyenburgh pvb@uvs-info.com

Publisher: Blyenburgh & Co

86 rue Michel-Ange, 75016 Paris, France Tel.: 33-1-40.71.83.43 Fax: 33-1-40.71.83.44 info@uvs-info.com www.uvs-info.com

Russ Curry Advertising: rc@uvs-info.com Carole Berman Technical info: cb@uvs-info.com Adriaan van Blyenburgh avb@uvs-info.com Photos:





Printed in June 2010 for UVS International, a non-profit association registered with the Chamber of Commerce in The Hague, The Netherlands, with its correspondence address at: 86 rue Michel-Ange, 75016 Paris, France, tel.: 33-1-46.51.88.65, fax: 33-1-46.51.05.22, email: info@uvs-international.org, web: www.uvs-international.org, and the international UAS community.

Unless otherwise indicated, all photos in this publication originate from the Blyenburgh & Co photo library.

The entire contents of this publication is protected by copyright. All rights reserved. No parts of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without prior written permission.

The views and opinions in this publication are expressed by the authors and contributors in their personal capacity and are their sole responsibility. This publication does not imply that the views expressed in it represent the views or opinions of UVS International, its members or the publishers.

No responsibility or liability is accepted by the editors or the publishers or UVS International, for any loss occasioned to any person, legal or physical, acting or refraining from action as a result of any statement, fact, diagram, figure, expression of opinion or belief contained in this publication. The publication of advertisements in this publication does not in any way imply endorsement of products or services therein by the editors or the publishers or UVS International.

Acknowledgements

Russ Curry (advertising & proof-reading), Carole Berman (technical research & database) and Adriaan van Blyenburgh (documentary research, photography & photo library) are sincerely thanked for their contributions to making this publication possible.

The advertisers are sincerely thanked for, once again, making it financially possible to bring out this publication.

Contributors

John Allen, Gilbert Amato, Martin Balda, Fuf Bar, Jeff Bauer, Achim Baumann, Marc Baumgartner, Col Jay R. Bickley, Marion Blakey, Erik Berglund, Leslie Carey, Eduardo Carrillo, David Cartmell, Gary Clayton, André Clot, Reece Clothier, Peter Cosyn, Vlastimil Coufal, Khady Coundoul, Paul Cremin, Wayne Crowe, Doug Davis, Pete Dumont, Patrick Egan, Dan Elwell, Rene Eppi, LtCol Dave Ehredt, Jurgen Everaerts, Gideon Ewers, Gilles Fartek, Achim Friedl, Joël Fritz, Vince Galotti, Xavier Fernier, Steve Glowacki, Rocky Gmeiner, Jeff Goldfinger, Dr Luis Filipe Gonzalez, Patrick Goudou, Christophe Gyr, Dave Haddon, Richard Hermans, Peter Hill, Frank Hofmann, Ole Vidar Homleid, Robbie Hood, Yoshinobu Hosoda, Steve Hottman, Kazutoshi Ishikawa, David Kershaw, Jean-Yves Longère, James Jewell, Marca Johnson, Tore Kallevig, Rose Karolenko, Roberto Kobeh Gonzalez, Lynn Koch, Zdravko Kolev, Ondrej Koukol, Alexander Koldaev, Hans-Jürgen Kuhn, Marita Lintener, Graham Lynn, Carlo Margrassi, Gérard Mardiné, Brad Mason, Bruce Mahone, Edward Manns, Douglas Marshall, Frank Martin, Emeric Mathiou, Christophe Mazel, David McMillan, Dr Luis Mejias, Bill Mellor, Carl Mikeman, Capt Thomas Mildenberger, Nick Miller, John Moreland, Yves Morier, Frank Mueller-Nallbach, Brenda Mulac, Manuel Mulero, Kris Nackaerts, Ken Nagai, Per Osen, Raquel Patricia Gomez, Rick Prosek, Elizabeth Quintana, Carlotta Rossi, Akira Sato, Dr Gerald Sayer, Dan Schultz, Capt Giovanni Sembenini, Willy Sigl, James Sizemore, Michael Simm, Laurence Solderman, Rune Storvold, Martin Stoussavljewitsch, Mike Strong, Filippo Tomasello, Michele Townes, Luc Tytgat, Andreas Udovic, Ron van de Leijgraaf, Joe Urli, Peter Voersmann, Bernhard Freiherr von Bothmer, John Walker, Prof Rod Walker, Mark Xavier, Alexander Weis, Dick Zandee, Frank Zeppenfeldt.

ISSN: 1967-1709

Printed by ETC Imprimerie, France on eco-friendly paper.